oneBoro Forum

Guedioura

Apparently he was at the boxing last night? I hope he had a good time anyway.  It's nice that the players are able to take a break from all their hard work and relax in these stressful times for the football club.

Let's just think about this.  More than one person currently at this football club thought he was a good signing.  

More than one.  

Neither of those people appear to be the ex manager or the current manager. 

At least one person in our scouting team (and probably more than one) felt he was a guy that could add to our squad.  The Chief Executive, if not actively pushing for it himself, presumably supported it and then finally Gibson signed off on it.

Let's firstly consider the fact that whilst a better central midfielder certainly could have been useful, it wasn't a stated priority for anyone, well except me but I've been banging on about it for a couple of years. Karanka made no mention of it and the players we were pursuing were completely different positions and types of players. 

Then secondly we should consider the fact that he was no kind of improvement anyway.  He was ok in the Championship having one or two decent spells but no more than that, he's 31 and obviously 32 this year and hasn't looked at any point like even a solid Premier League calibre midfielder.

Was this signing a favour for someone?  If so is £4m an acceptable amount to be paying for favours? Is the incompetence of some of our staff, including our Chief Executive, such that we are unable to see when a player isn't good enough and/or doesn't address clear areas of weakness.  You'd think these would be fairly basic things they'd need to be able to do but it appears that we have people who can't manage this.

If Gibson is sticking around and if he is serious about Boro's future he should start by addressing those aspects of the football club that have failed miserably this season even before we get down to who the next manager is.

• Replies 36